Innocent Bird

Ok… I will have to say this expressly here since no-one seemed to be paying attention when I first posted this online.
I CANNOT READ HINDI, SPEAK MUCH OF IT, OR TRANSLATE IT!
I found the transliterations through google myself and collected them here for my own benefit and edited a few things here and there to make a little more sense and for clarity. I only know a few words… only because of repetition!

I searched on google, pressed Ctrl+C with the selected text then Ctrl+V into blogger, that was it. No real effort beyond making things clearer and editing. And I provided LINKS TO THE ORIGINAL PAGES. 

I had the fortune of being able to listen to this song at the end of a recent Bollywood film Rockstar.

I thought this would be worth a share… since many people will discount this song almost immediately I will put the original Hindi transliteration and the English translation.

I know very little about the film so this post won’t be as informative as my Fuyu no Semi post (for what it was).

Nadaan Parindey ghar aaja  / Nadaan Parinde / O Innocent Bird / O childish bird

The subtitles in the film often translated ‘Oh Nadaan parindey’ as ‘O innocent bird’, that’s the translation I will be sticking to. It’s a haunting song that has stuck with me enough to track it down and since I started this post originally I have managed to find out more information about the music and contributers.

Speaking of contributors there are so many different recordings of the lyrics its annoying to try and figure out some of the lines and where some parts of the songs are compared to those being sung. Feel free to correct any assumptions I do make when I have knowingly altered wordings.

Movie: Rockstar

Music: A R Rahman

Lyrics: Irshad Kamil

Singers: Mohit Chauhan, A R Rahman

Innocent Bird

Lyrics recorded here Altered by myself for personal lyric reading preference (I fear the poster has English as a second language… or is just lazy).

Oh nadaan parindey

Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja..

Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja.

Kyun desh videsh phire maara

Kyun haal behaal thakha haara

Kyun desh videsh phire maara

Tu raat beraat ka banjaara

Oh nadaan parindey.Ghar aaja..

Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja.

Nadaan parindey

Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja

Sau dard badan pe failey hai

Har karam ke kapde mailey hai

Kateein chahe jitna, Paron se hawoon ko

Khud se na bach payega tu..

Todh aasmaanon ko,Phook de jahaanon ko

Khud ko chupa na payega tu..

Koi bhi le rastaa ,Tu hi hai tu bebastaa

Apne hi ghar aayeha tu..

Oh nadaan..Oh nadaan parindey

Ghar aaja..Ghar aaja.. Ghar aaja..Ghar aaja

Nadaan parindey

Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja

*Kaagar kaagar , Morhi itni araj tohse

Chun chun khahiyoo maas

Kaagar kaagar, Morhi itni araj tohse

Chun chun khahiyoo maas

Arajiya re khahiyoo na , Do nain mohe

Khahiyoo na do nain mohe

Piya ke milan ki aas

Khahiyoo na do nain mohe

Khahiyoo na do nain mohe

Piya ke milan ki aas

Oh nada~an..Oh nadaan parindey

Ghar aaja..Ghar aaja..Ghar aaja..Ghar aaja..

Nadaan parindey

Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja.Ghar aaja

[Trail off with Nadaan Parindey Ghar aajaa ]

* This paragraph has some repeated lines, and some that I don’t really know the translation to. For the English I will repeat the lines and put ~ around those that are.

Lyrics recorded Here and the English was corrected by myself. 

 

O innocent bird

come home.come home.come home

come home.come home.come home

why do you wander from place to place

why is your condition so bad so tired, lost

why do you wander from place to place

you have become a nomad of nights

O innocent bird

come home.come home.come home.come home

O innocent bird

come home.come home.come home.come home

A hundred pains are distributed all over your body

your body is all maligned with ill-deeds.

how much you cut the winds with your wings ,

You cant run away from yourself.

break the skies , fire up the things which irritate you …

you can’t hide yourself .

take whichever path in life, you are homeless there

you will come back to your own home,

ohh innocent….O innocent bird

come home.come home.come home.come home

O innocent bird

come home.come home.come home. come home

O crow, I have only one request to you, eat my whole flesh,

~O crow, I have only one request to you, eat my whole flesh ~

but do not eat my eyes, don’t eat my eyes as I have a wish to see my lover..

~I have a wish to see my lover, pray don’t eat my eyes~

ohh innocent O innocent bird

come home.come home.come home.come home.

O innocent bird

come home.come home.come home. come home.

[[Trail off with- O innocent bird come home-]] 

Since working on editing these lyrics I have found a much smoother English translation of the lyrics with respect for the site I will only copy the English and it will link back to the original and resource filled page. It translates many Bollywood songs and takes the version directly from the film. 

I’ve taken the liberty of editing the English a little and tweaking a few things here and there. Don’t for one moment think I know any Hindi other than ‘come home’ (Ghar aajaa) by heart.

O Naadaan Parindey Ghar aa ja: Lyrics, Translation (Rockstar)

O naadaan parindey

ghar aa jaa..

ghar aa jaa..

O innocent bird,

come back home..

come back home..

kyun des bides phire maara

kyun haal behaal thaka haara

kyun des bides phire maara

tu raat biraat ka banjara

why do you wander country-country (in such bad shape)

why is your condition so bad, all tired-lost

why do you wander this country to that

you (have become) a nomad of nights..

sau dard badan pe phaile hain

har karam ke kapde maile hain

a hundred pains are spread on the body,

clothes of all compassion are dirty..

[[all the sources of compassion are not there for you right now]]

kaate chahe jitna paron se hawa ko

khud se na bach payega tu

tod aasmanon ko phoonk de jahanon ko

khud ko chhhupa na payega tu

koi bhi le rasta

tu hai tu bebasta

apne hi ghar aayega tu

however much you cut the winds with your wings,

you’ll not be able to fend yourself from yourself..

break the skies and burn the worlds,

but you can’t hide yourself,

whatever path you take,

you are homeless (out there)

you will come to your home only..

o naadaaan…

o naadan parindey, ghar aa jaaa..

ghar aa ja. ghar aa ja. ghar aa ja.

Oh Innocent…

oh innocent bird, come home

come home. come home. come home

kaaga re kaaga re mori itni araj tujhse chun chun khaiyo maans

khaiyo na tu naina more, khaiyo na tu naina mohe piya ke milan ki aas..

O crow, I have so much of request to you, eat (my bodys) flesh,

but do not eat my eyes, don’t eat my eyes as I have a wish to see my lover..

**The crow part of the song is more relevant when you see the film, there’s a CG crow involved from what I remember, also the crow is a carrion bird, a scavenger that in some mythologies happens to be caring. An Indian crow typically has more brown feathers on its body than it does black – when we say crow we often end up meaning the common American Crow. Same family as Ravens and such.

Also “The film ends as it started: with Jordan performing “Nadaan Parindey”, and he envisions Heer’s spirit having flown to him” 

One commenter has said “Nice word by word translation! I am just trying to elaborate the song as per my understanding – Nadan Parinda is ‘soul’, Ghar is ‘God’s place – heaven’ and desh-videsh is ‘Human Body’! So the song signifies that the soul is to free the body someday and go back to its original house(the heaven)! Not so sure though!”

I don’t much care or know… but Nadan Parinda Ghar would then mean something like Soul return to heaven… I don’t agree so much with the commenter in a way since Ghar seems to mean either come or home (I wouldn’t like to second guess the word order) but… The song itself… The singer is praying his lovers soul would return to him or be well (which explains the end of the movie SO MUCH) Just. There’s a lot of blathering on I could do about this song… but it means much more to me now than it first did.

 

A.R.Rahman & Mohit Chauhan – 08 Nadaan Parindey – Download .mp3
Found at bee mp3 search engine

Leave a comment